Skip to main content

Our Curriculum

Children have to study the core subjects of the National Curriculum, which are English, Mathematics, Science and Information Technology. The school follows the new curriculum framework. They must also study Design Technology, History, Geography, Art, Music, Physical Education and Religious Education. Children in Year Six also have access to a programme of Personal, Social and Health Education, including Sex Education and Citizenship.
The National Curriculum is also divided into three "Key Stages" in Primary Schools, these relate to the age of the pupils:
• Early Years Foundation Stage (Reception). 
• Key Stage 1 (Years 1 and 2). 
• Key Stage 2 (Years 3,4,5 and 6). 
The class teacher will arrange some lessons, which are particular to one subject.  At other times they will arrange lessons, which combine two or more subjects into a theme, topic or project.  Some work will be for the whole class, but sometimes your child will be part of a group, or working individually on tasks that are suitable for their level of ability. Each subject in the National Curriculum is divided into Attainment Targets, the headings for the subjects are:
  • English comprises Speaking and Listening, Reading and Writing (including spelling and Handwriting)
  • Mathematics includes Using and Applying Mathematics, Number and Algebra, Shape, Space and Measures and Handling Data
  • Science includes Life and Living Processes, Materials and their Properties, Physical Processes and Experimental/Investigative Science

Please use the menus to find infomation about the curriculum for each Key Stage.